HLF welcomes new chairs and members to our committees

04/04/2016

Today, HLF is welcoming four new chairs and 14 new members to our regional and country committees.

Our committees play a key role in deciding where National Lottery players' money is spent. They make decisions on applications to HLF from £100,000 to £2million.

[quote=Sir Peter Luff, Chair of HLF]"I'm delighted to see such a wealth of talent and experience joining our regional and country committees..."[/quote]

Sir Peter Luff, Chair of HLF, said: "Thanks to National Lottery players HLF is able to support an amazing array of projects that encompass all aspects of the UK's rich and diverse heritage. I'm delighted to see such a wealth of talent and experience joining our regional and country committees, adding to what are already very strong teams of decision makers.

"As we welcome and look forward to working with our new colleagues, I must add that we are hugely grateful to all the outgoing chairs and committee members who are now handing over the reins. They have brought endless dedication and hard work to the role and leave an impressive legacy in the shape of the hundreds of excellent projects funded during their time in office. We wish them luck for the future."

New chairs

Maria Adebowale-Schwarte - Chair of the South East England committee

<u>Maria Adebowale-Schwarte</u> is a place making and urban renewal strategist. She is the Founding Director of Living Space Project and a former Commissioner of English Heritage.

Stephen Boyce – Chair of the South West England committee

<u>Stephen Boyce</u> is an independent arts and heritage consultant. He was the Deputy Chief Executive of Southern Arts in the 1990s and went on to be Programme Manager of Awards for All, before joining HLF where he was Deputy Director of Operations from 2001-2010.

Sue Beardsmore – Chair of the West Midlands committee

<u>Sue Beardsmore</u> is a broadcast journalist who worked for the BBC in the Midlands for over 20 years as a reporter and presenter.

Helen Wilson – Chair of the East of England committee

<u>Helen Wilson</u> is Chair of the New Anglia Cultural Board, and a board member for the Writers' Centre in Norwich and also the Norfolk Museums Foundation. She was also a producer and editor on BBC Radio 4's *Today, World at One* and *PM* programmes.

New committee members

East of England

• Sue Davies

North West

- Nigel de Noronha
- Stephen Welsh

North East

- Jim Cokill
- Lynn Turner

Scotland

- Liz Davidson
- Alice Mayne
- Martyn Wade

South West

- Wilbert Smith
- Sue Minter

South East

• Andrew Blessley

Wales

• David Robinson

West Midlands

- Rachel Chiu
- Alison Wedgwood

How to find out more

Read more about all our Committee members on our Committees page.